COUNCILLOR CONDUCT COMMITTEE - 23.9.2020

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE COUNCILLOR CONDUCT COMMITTEE HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 23 SEPTEMBER 2020

PRESENT Claire Stewart, Glynis Vince, Elaine Hayward, Rick Jewell,

Christine Chamberlain (Independent Person) and Sarah

Jewell (Independent Person)

OFFICERS: Jeremy Chambers (Director of Law and Governance) Metin

Halil (Secretary), Jayne Middleton-Albooye (Head of Legal Services), Claire Johnson (Head of Democratic Services, Scrutiny and Registration Services), Elizabeth Paraskeva (Principal Lawyer) and Clare Bryant (Senior Governance

Officer)

Also Attending: Councillor Daniel Anderson and Rabbi Epstein

1

WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

No apologies for absence were received.

2

WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

No apologies for absence were received.

3

SUBSTITUTIONS

There were no substitutions for this meeting.

4

DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

There were no declaration of interests.

5

APPEAL HEARING - PART 1

The Committee agreed to move the discussions into Part 2.

AGREED: to uphold the Monitoring Officer's original decision that a breach of the Members Code of Conduct had occurred and the sanctions that were

COUNCILLOR CONDUCT COMMITTEE - 23.9.2020

imposed. If Councillor Anderson wished to contact the Local Government Ombudsman as regards his complaint, he was free to do so.

Councillor Vince and Councillor Hayward asked for their abstentions to be recorded.